2015 Saltire Literary Awards Open for Nominations

The presentation of the 2014 Book of the Year awards: (left to right) Jenny Niven, Creative Scotland, Richard McKean, son of the late Professor Charles McKean, Professor Bob Harris and Ian Campbell, Convenor of the 2014 Literary Awards panel

Writers from across Scotland have the opportunity to have their work recognised across six categories with the opening of nominations for the 2015 Saltire Literary Awards, which are widely recognised as Scotland’s most prestigious book award.

This year’s categories include First Book of the Year, History Book of the Year, Research Book of the Year and Poetry Book of the Year as well as a separate award for Publisher of the Year, accompanied by a £4,000 cash prize. In addition, following its successful launch in 2014, the Literary Book of the Year award has been expanded into two separate categories: one for Fiction Book of the Year and the other for Non-Fiction Book of the Year.

Saltire Society Scottish Book of the Year

The winner of each book category will receive a cash prize of £2,000 and go on to be considered for the top prize of £6,000, awarded to the Saltire Society Scottish Book of the Year.

Nominations for the six book categories must reach the Saltire Society by Friday, 1st May while nominations for the Publisher of the Year award are due to close on Friday, 19th June.

Winners last year included the critically-acclaimed ‘How to be Both’ from multiple award winner Ali Smith and academic research project, ‘The Scottish Town in the Age of Enlightenment 1740-1820’ by Professor Bob Harris and the late Professor Charles McKean, which was named Research Book of the Year before going on to win the Saltire Book of the Year award.

The 2015 Awards shortlist will be announced at the end of September 2015, and the awards ceremony is scheduled to take place on 26th November. Alongside their cash prize, all winners will also receive a specially-designed award.

‘The full breadth of the Scottish Literary landscape’

“The Saltire Literary Awards allow us to recognise and celebrate the contribution and exceptional talents of all of Scotland’s writers,” said Jim Tough, Executive Director of the Saltire Society. “As the popularity of Scottish writing continues to grow, we felt it only fitting that the awards once again be expanded so that they are able to represent the full breadth of the Scottish Literary landscape.

“We are hugely grateful to our partners the National Library of Scotland, the Scottish Poetry Library and Scottish Historical Review Trust. Their continuing commitment and support allow us to celebrate Scottish authors and give them the profile that they deserve.”

Further information and entry forms can be found at www.saltiresociety.org.uk/awards/literature/

Award Categories

• First Book of the Year, which is open to authors who have not previously been published
• Fiction Book of the Year
• History Book of the Year, which honours the memory of Saltire Society member, historian and writer Agnes Mure McKenzie
• Non-Fiction Book of the Year
• Poetry Book of the Year
• Research Book of the Year, which recognises outstanding academic achievement
• Publisher of the Year, dedicated to encouraging and supporting publishing companies headquartered in Scotland and to celebrating their continued achievements and ambitions.

And There’s More…

• The Ross Roy Medal, commemorating the outstanding contribution to Scottish literature made by Professor G. Ross Roy of South Carolina University and awarded annually to a PhD thesis submitted on a subject relating to Scottish literature and judged by the University Committee itself;
• The Saltire International Travel Bursary, supported by the British Council Scotland, providing one Creative Writing graduate the opportunity to pursue a research project, including international travel, related to their studies.